Barry Sheene

1976, 1977: The British legend took the Championship for Suzuki in 1976 with five superb victories, and again in the 1977 season with six. He remains the last British rider to become World Champion in the reigning class.

Marco Lucchinelli

1981: Fighting withKenny Roberts and Randy Mamola, the Italian was crowned the 1981 World Champion to take his place in MotoGP history.

Franco Uncini

1982: In a year that saw the grid full of further legendary names including Freddie Spencer, Kenny Roberts and Barry Sheene, Uncini took the title on his Suzuki with 5 victories and 7 podiums.

Kevin Schwantz

1993: The Texan was crowned World Champion after epic battles with Wayne Rainey, in a year full of well-known names, including Mick Doohan, Luca Caladora, Alex Barros and Alex Crivillé.

Kenny Roberts Jr.

2000: After winning the title in 2000, Kenny Roberts Jr. made history when the Roberts family became the first Father/Son World Champions.

Joan Mir

2020: One of the most closely fought and tough titles of all time. And you already know the result...